Sep 20, 2012 5:00 PM by MTN Meteorologist Mike Rawlins

MT drought continues, more counties declared natural disaster areas

GREAT FALLS- There's no doubt that Montana's drought continues thanks to weeks of little to no rain.

Over 60% of the state is experiencing some severity of drought conditions, according to the National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration.

On Thursday, NOAA released its' weekly Drought Monitor, which showed no improvement for the Treasure State.

As the dry weather persists, the United States Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency has declared 13 new counties as primary natural disaster areas.

This designation allows farm operators to apply for low-interest emergency (EM) loans from the USDA FSA.

Those counties include Carbon, Carter, Cascade, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Meagher, Musselshell, Park, Powder River, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Treasure and Wheatland.

Nearby counties are also eligible for natural disaster assistance.

Those include Big Horn, Broadwater, Chouteau, Custer, Fallon, Fergus, Gallatin, Lewis & Clark, Petroleum, Rosebud, Teton and Yellowstone.


Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular