Missoula Osprey

Sep 15, 2012 11:25 AM by KPAX/KAJ Media Center

Osprey rout Raptors to win Pioneer League title

OGDEN, UTAH - The Missoula Osprey scored five runs in the top of the first inning, and four pitchers combined on a five-hit shutout in a 10-0 win over the Ogden Raptors that gave the Osprey their first Pioneer League title since the 2006 season, winning the Best-of-3 series, 2-1.

The Osprey, playing in their third winner-take-all game in eight days, scored five times in the top of the first inning, highlighted by a two-run single by Socrates Brito and a two-run double by Breland Almadova, off of Ogden starter Ross Stripling (0-1), and were not threatened after that.

Jake Lamb - who finished with four RBIs in the contest - and Yosbel Gutierrez each hit two-run home runs to extend the lead to 9-0, and Lamb's RBI single in the top of the eighth inning capped the scoring.

Yoimer Camacho (2-0), pitching in his second clinching game of the postseason, pitched five innings, allowing just three hits and three walks while striking out four batters to pick up the win. The bullpen effort of Chase Stevens, Vince Spilker and Justin Thompson helped cap the first Osprey post-season shutout in club history.

The Osprey finished with 13 hits in the contest, led by three for Lamb, while Danny Pulfer and Brito added a pair of safeties for Missoula.

The Osprey won their third championship, winning previously in the 1999 and 2006 seasons. It's the second time Missoula has won the clinching game on the road.

Connect with KPAX Facebook Twitter Email



Get your Griz fix by clicking here

Recent Top Stories