Bullock declares drought disaster in 28 counties, 5 Indian Reser - KPAX.com | Continuous News | Missoula & Western Montana

Bullock declares drought disaster in 28 counties, 5 Indian Reservations

Posted: Updated:
Governor Steve Bullock (MTN News photo) Governor Steve Bullock (MTN News photo)

Montana Gov. Steve Bullock issued an Executive Order on Wednesday declaring the following 28 counties and five Indian Reservations are in a drought disaster.

The areas are:

Blaine, Big Horn, Carter, Chouteau, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Hill, Judith Basin, McCone, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan, Treasure, Valley, Yellowstone, Wheatland, and Wibaux Counties and the Fort Peck Indian Reservation, Fort Belknap Indian Reservation, Rocky Boy Indian Reservation, Crow Indian Reservation, and Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation

“Extreme drought conditions are threatening the hard work of farmers and ranchers in Eastern Montana communities,” Bullock stated in a press release. “My administration remains committed to helping these folks get back on their feet and ensuring that all Montanans stay safe during these hot summer months.”

As of July 10, small non-farm businesses in 16 Montana counties are eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration after Bullock sent a letter to Secretary Sonny Perdue requesting a Secretarial Drought Disaster Designation. Affected counties and reservations are also eligible for the Livestock Forage Program.

Wednesday’s drought disaster declaration continues the temporary suspension of “hours of service” regulations and engages maximum employee assistance and cooperation to secure further economic assistance for the affected counties and Indian Reservations.

Powered by Frankly

© KPAX.com 2018, KPAX.com
All rights reserved
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?