NewsMontana News


Nominations open for Montana History Teacher of the Year award

Posted at 8:34 PM, Feb 26, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-27 12:03:22-05

GREAT FALLS — Nominations are now being accepted for the 31st annual Montana Statehood Centennial Bell Award honoring the Montana History Teacher of the Year.

Montana principals, superintendents, teachers, and librarians from public and private schools statewide can nominate a 7th-12th grade teacher in their school who is doing an exemplary job in teaching Montana history during the 2019-2020 school year.

This is the 31st year the winner will receive the Montana Statehood Centennial Bell Award honoring the Montana History Teacher of the Year.

On even-numbered years the award is given to a teacher at the 7th-12th grade level. On odd-numbered years it is given to a teacher at the 4th-6th grade level.

Nominations may be emailed to Norma Ashby Smith, Award Coordinator, at Nominations should include the nominator’s name, school, address, phone number, email; teacher’s name, grade, school, address, phone number, and email.

Nominations are due by March 31, 2020. All nominees will receive an entry letter with the deadline for returning their entry by May 13, 2020. All nominees will be notified by May 22.

Nominated teachers will be asked to submit two letters of support, one from their nominator and one from a student and a one-page statement detailing why they enjoy teaching Montana history, how they engage their students in learning, how their Montana history course recognizes cultural diversity and anything else they’d like to share about their class or methods.

The winner and his or her class will be honored at a ceremony in the State Capitol on Friday, November 6 at 10 a.m. The winner will receive a plaque and $3,500 toward classroom materials, field trips, speakers and anything else that will enhance their teaching of Montana history.

The program is sponsored by the Montana Television Network, the Montana History Foundation and the Sons & Daughters of Montana Pioneers in cooperation with the Montana Historical Society.

Contact Norma Ashby with any questions about the award or the nominations process at (406) 453-7078 or at ashby7@charter.n