NewsLocal NewsMissoula County


Missoula voters to decide on local option gas tax

Posted at 6:49 AM, Jun 02, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-02 10:35:41-04

MISSOULA — Missoula County voters have the option to vote for a two-cent per gallon gas tax on Tuesday's primary election ballot.

The tax revenue would be added to a dedicated fund to be used in conjunction with matching federal and state funds.

Those funds would only be used for construction, maintenance and repair of public roads and streets.

The proposed tax only applies to gasoline, not diesel fuel.

Estimates say the proposed gas tax could generate $1.1 million in revenue, with tourists providing around $400,000 of that money.

Missoula County voter information:

Since the primary is an all-mail election, polling places will not be open. Voters who still need to return their ballots on Election Day should not mail them, as the Election Office must receive them by 8 p.m. Postmarks are not sufficient. Instead, voters should drop off ballots at one of five drive-thru locations across the Missoula County, which will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day:

  • Missoula County Fairgrounds, 1101 South Ave. W.
  • Lolo Elementary School, 11395 U.S. Hwy. 93 S.
  • Bonner School, 11395 U.S. Hwy. 9j3 S.
  • Seeley Lake Elementary, 200 School Lane
  • Frenchtown Fire Station, 16863 Marion St.

Voters who need to register to vote, replace their ballots, retrieve undeliverable ballots or seek other voter services will need to go to the Election Center on Russell Street. Services will be available from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the large green building on the east side of the lot, with voter parking and drop-off at the same end of the lot. The west end of the lot, closest to Russell Street, is exit-only and right-turn only onto Wyoming Street.

Voters will still be able to register and vote on Election Day but should expect long wait times due to social distancing requirements and other precautions intended to prevent the spread of COVID-19. All voters who are in line by 8 p.m. will be served.