NewsMissoula County


Some Missoula Co. polling places moved ahead of Nov. 6 election

Posted at 12:25 PM, Oct 05, 2018
and last updated 2018-10-05 12:54:53-04
Missoula Ballot Box
(MTN News file photo)

MISSOULA – The Missoula County Elections Office has confirmed location changes for four polling places for the general election in November.

The changes, which are in effect for the upcoming election only, will impact roughly 7,735 voters. Polls will be open during the usual hours, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Missoula County Election Administrator Dayna Causby said the relocations will create a few challenges, but voters have options.

“Missoula County voters always have the opportunity to vote via the mail,” Causby said. “Voters can request a mail ballot up until the day before the election.”

The Elections Office will mail fliers to voters in affected precincts who have not opted to vote by mail.

The fliers will include maps of the relocated polling places, as well as a pre-filled, postage-paid form allowing voters to sign up to have their ballots mailed to them if voting at the alternate location is not convenient.

All registered voters can fill out an online form to receive an absentee ballot in the mail through Tuesday, Oct. 9.

After that date, voters will need to request an absentee ballot in person at the Elections Office, currently located in Building 15 of the Missoula County Fairgrounds, 1101 South Ave.

The office is currently open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, with extended and weekend hours planned for October.

With renovation construction beginning at the fairgrounds, the Elections Office urges voters to take care of any election-related needs as soon as possible to alleviate crowding at the facility in the days leading up to the election.

Due to construction, the following polling places will be relocated for the Tuesday, Nov. 6, election:

  • Hellgate Elementary School: Relocated to Montana Technology & Development Center, 5785 W. Broadway
  • Cold Springs Elementary School, Meadow Hill Middle School: Relocated to Chief Charlo Elementary School, 5600 Longview Drive
  • Hawthorne Elementary School: Relocated to Orchard Homes Country Life Club, 2537 S. Third St. W.

Voters can check their registration status and polling place location at