NewsMissoula County


3 Nominees for Missoula County commissioner slot chosen

Posted at 9:42 AM, May 29, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-29 13:05:36-04
Missoula County Courthouse
The Missoula County Courthouse in downtown Missoula. (MTN News file photo)

MISSOULA – Missoula County Democrats nominated three people for county commissioner to fill outgoing Nicole “Cola” Rowley’s vacated seat.

The Missoula County Democrats Central Committee nominated Stacie Anderson, Denver Henderson and Juanita Vero at a Tuesday night forum.

Since Rowley is leaving before her term expires, an appointee will fill her seat upon her departure.

Anderson currently represents Missoula City Council Ward 5 and also serves as Executive Director of A Better Big Sky. She was recently the executive director of Carols List.

Henderson currently works as an organizer for SIEU 775 and serves on the MontPIRG Leadership Fund Board of directors.

Vero is a fourth-generation Montanan who serves as Chair of the Directors for Montana Conservation Voters, Vice Chair of Swan Valley Connection, the Sunset School Board and Secretary for Big Blackfoot chapter of Trout Unlimited.

Rowley announced in April that she will be stepping down to accept a position in Bozeman. She will assume her new position as deputy county administrator in Bozeman on July 1.

Stacie, Denver, and Juanita will receive questionnaires from the Commission on June 7 and then be interviewed on June 11.

The appointment will be announced on June 13th if the Commission picks one of the nominees. If they do not like any of the three nominees, the central committee will send three new nominees.

The newly selected commissioner will carry out the remaining year and half of Rowley’s term and have the opportunity to run for the open seat in the November 2020 election.

The winner of the election will then serve the standard six-year staggered term beginning Jan. 1, 2021.