Montana's Carmen Gfeller, MSU's Darian White named 1st team All-Big Sky

Stiles, Bad Bear also honored
KPAX 022622 Women Cats Griz Basketball JDO10.jpg
Posted at 10:42 AM, Mar 07, 2022

BOISE, IDAHO — The Big Sky Conference released its women's all-conference lists on Monday, and the Treasure State was well represented with the postseason awards.

Montana junior forward Carmen Gfeller and Montana State junior guard Darian White were both named first-team All-Big Sky on Monday. Sacramento State's Lianna Tillman was named league MVP, while Idaho's Beyonce Bea and Idaho State's Tomekia Whitman rounded out the first team.

White, who hails from Boise, Idaho, was also named the co-Defensive Player of the Year alongside Whitman. For White, who averaged 15.6 points, 5.1 rebounds, 4.2 assists and 2.6 steals per game, it's her second first team all-league selection and Defensive Player of the Year award after earning both last year as a sophomore.

Gfeller, of Colfax, Washington, was a third-team selection last year and the Lady Griz forward averaged 13.9 points and 6.7 rebounds this year for UM.

KPAX 022622 Women Cats Griz Basketball JDO23.jpg
University of Montana junior Carmen Gfeller (20) shoots a layup during the Cat-Griz game in Dahlberg Arena Saturday, February 26, 2022. University of Montana won the game, 71-57.

Montana point guard Sophia Stiles was named to the second team on Monday. Stiles, a Malta native and senior, averaged 11.8 points, 6.0 rebounds and 4.2 assists this year for Montana.

Montana State junior forward Kola Bad Bear was named to the third team as well. Bad Bear, who hails from Billings, averaged 10.5 points and 5.3 rebounds for the Bobcats this season.

The women's Big Sky Conference Tournament begins on Monday with the first round games. Both UM and MSU have a first-round bye and will open their play in the quarterfinal round on Tuesday. The Lady Griz, the No. 5 seed, will play No. 4 Northern Arizona at 2:30 p.m. on Tuesday while the Bobcats will play the winner of Sacramento State and Weber State at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday.

2021-22 All-Big Sky Conference Teams

First Team

Lianna Tillman, Sacramento State *

Beyonce Bea, Idaho *

Darian White, Montana State *

Carmen Gfeller, Montana

Tomekia Whitman, Idaho State

* Unanimous selection

Second Team

Isnelle Natabou, Sacramento State

Estefania Ors, Idaho State

Sophia Stiles, Montana

Hannah Simental, Northern Colorado

Daryn Hickok, Weber State

Third Team

Kola Bad Bear, Montana State

Darri Dotson, Southern Utah

Kurstyn Harden, Northern Colorado

Jacinta Buckley, Eastern Washington

Diaba Konate, Idaho State

Honorable Mention

Daylani Ballena, Southern Utah

Cherita Daugherty, Southern Utah

Regan Schenck, Northern Arizona

Louise Forsyth, Idaho

Jaydia Martin, Eastern Washington

Khiarica Rasheed, Northern Arizona

Individual Award Winners:

Most Valuable Player: Lianna Tillman, Sacramento State

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Darian White, Montana State; Tomekia Whitman, Idaho State

Top Reserve: Louise Forsyth, Idaho

Newcomer of the Year: Isnelle Natabou, Sacramento State

Freshman of the Year: Jaydia Martin, Eastern Washington